Stormzy, Dave and Sampha up for AIM Awards 2017


Image caption Stormzy is up for three awards after picking up AIM’s innovator award in 2016

Stormzy, The XX and Sampha are among the nominees for this year’s Association of Independent Music (AIM) Awards.

AIM represents the UK’s indie music sector, with the awards now in their seventh year.

Stormzy is up for most played new independent act, track of the year for Big For Your Boots and album of the year for Gang Signs & Prayer.

Dave also has three nominations, while Sampha and Little Simz have two each.


Image caption Dave is up for most played new independent act, track of the year for Wanna Know and breakthrough of the year

Little Simz, who appears in the hardest working independent act category, sees her latest record Stillness in Wonderland nominated for difficult second album alongside the likes of Bear’s Den’s Red Earth & Pouring Rain and Modern Ruin by Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes.

Childish Gambino’s “Awaken, My Love!”, alt J’s Relaxer and The Landlord by Giggs are among the names up against Stormzy in the independent album of the year category.

The XX are also nominated for track of the year for On Hold, the category also features Goldfrapp’s Anymore and (No One Knows Me) Like the Piano by Sampha, who is also up for independent breakthrough of the year.

Viola Beach

Viola Beach, who passed away in a car accident on their way back from playing at a festival in Sweden last year, are also nominated.

They’re alongside Dave, Gavin James, Lapsley and Stormzy in the most played new independent act.

The ceremony also acknowledges people who champion independent music as well as independent festivals and labels.

Matador Records, which is home to artists like Queens of the Stone Age and Interpol, is among the nominees for independent label of the year.

The award’s will take place on 5 September in east London and will be hosted by Radio 1 and 1Xtra DJ’s Clara Amfo and MistaJam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *